Readers ask: When Does Hunting Season Start In Montana?

The program — which offers nearly 7.8 million acres of hunting-friendly land — is available for fall hunts but excludes spring bear and turkey seasons. **Season dates vary by zone.

Montana Deer Seasons.

Archery Sept. 4-Oct. 17
Backcountry Archery Sept. 4-14
General Backcountry Season Sept. 15-Nov. 28

2

When can I hunt deer in Montana?

Montana’s general deer tags provide a great opportunity to harvest a mule deer or whitetail and provide plenty of time to get it done over generous season dates. The archery season runs September 4-October 17 and then the rifle season is October 23-November 28.

What can I hunt in Montana right now?

2021 SEASON

  • Mountain Grouse: Sept. 1 – Jan.
  • Partridge: Sept. 1 – Jan.
  • Ring-necked Pheasant: Oct. 9 – Jan.
  • Youth Hunt: Sept. 25 – Sept.
  • Sage Grouse: Sept. 1 – Sept.
  • Sharp-tailed Grouse: Sept. 1 – Jan.
  • Falconry: Sept. 1 – March 31.
You might be interested:  Question: What Binoculars Should I Buy For Hunting?

Can you shoot a deer on your property in Montana?

According to Montana law, if you want to hunt on private property, you must have permission from the landowner. This includes block management lands (BMA) and areas open to the public but owned by private landowners. Thus, you don’t have permission, until you complete the owner’s conditions for access.

Can you buy an over the counter deer tag in Montana?

#Montana Offers Combination Big Game or Elk Tags Over-the-counter (OTC) tags are no longer available for non-residents. You will have to apply for what they call Combination Elk, Big game Combos (Deer and Elk) and Combination Deer licenses.

Can you hunt on Sundays in Montana?

We’re lucky here in Montana with our long hunting seasons, low cost hunting licenses and the ability to hunt on any day that ends in “Y ”. But that’s not the case in other states who must adhere to BLUE LAWS which disallow hunting on Sundays.

What game can you hunt in Montana?

Huntable species in Montana include black bears, mule deer, white-tailed deer, pronghorn antelope, Rocky Mountain elk, Shiras moose, mountain goats, mountain lions, bighorn sheep, turkeys, wolves, and bison. There is also excellent hunting for upland birds and waterfowl in most of the state.

Can you hunt grizzly bears in Montana?

Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks opted to not hold a hunt. Montana was the last state to hold a grizzly hunting season in the lower 48 states. A recently published survey by Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks and the University of Montana indicated Montanans favor grizzly bear hunting by an overwhelming majority.

You might be interested:  Question: What Are The Best .22 Pellets For Hunting?

How much does an elk tag cost in Montana?

Fees: Big Game Combo (Deer & Elk): $526. Elk Combo: $444. Deer Combo: $307.

How much is a bull elk tag in Montana?

The deadline is around the first of April and the full license fee of $1046 for an elk/deer combo license (or $884 for the elk combo license) will not be charged until you draw. Montana is known for its world-class Elk hunting, and it should be.

How much is an over the counter elk tag in Montana?

Montana residents get their elk tags over-the-counter for as little as $20 ($10 for minor, disabled, and senior citizens). Non-resident licenses are available only through limited draw. This is before travel cost, or the cost of the outfitter or drop-in camp service.

Can you hunt on your own property in Montana?

Hunters must obtain landowner permission to hunt on all private land, which often can be obtained through simple courtesy and communication between the hunter and the landowner.

Do you need a tag to hunt on your own land in Montana?

Montana operates on a landowner preference and sponsor program and requires 160 acres for deer and 640 acres for elk tags. A registered resident landowner deer combination license can be applied for when a landowner is granting access to hunting on the property to a nonresident hunter.

Can you shoot on Montana state land?

Open Fires on leased or licensed state land are restricted to designated campgrounds. Overnight use (camping) on leased or licensed state land outside of a designated campground is allowed within 200 feet of a customary access point but is limited to two consecutive days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *