The statewide alligator hunting season begins on August 15 and ends on the morning of November 1. The first four weeks of the season are divided into four quota weeks, and each permit is assigned one of those weeks.
- 1 How much is an alligator tag in Florida?
- 2 How much do you get paid to hunt alligators in Florida?
- 3 Do you need a hunting license to hunt alligators in Florida?
- 4 What is required to hunt alligators in Florida?
- 5 How much does it cost to buy alligator tags?
- 6 How much are alligator hunting tags?
- 7 How much do you get for killing an alligator?
- 8 How much do you get paid for a dead alligator?
- 9 How many alligator tags does Troy Landry get?
- 10 Can you legally hunt alligators in Florida?
- 11 Is it legal to shoot alligators in Florida?
- 12 How do I get a permit for an alligator in Florida?
- 13 How do you become an alligator hunter?
- 14 How do alligator hunters get tags?
- 15 What is the fine for killing an alligator in Florida?
How much is an alligator tag in Florida?
The alligator trapping license/harvest permit and two hide validation CITES tags cost $272 for Florida residents, $22 for those with a Florida Resident Persons with Disabilities Hunting and Fishing License, and $1,022 for nonresidents.
How much do you get paid to hunt alligators in Florida?
Usually, alligator hunters work freelance and don’t make any money until they have an alligator to show. How much a hunter makes can vary greatly. However, some hunters report that they can earn up to $40 per foot of the alligator.
Do you need a hunting license to hunt alligators in Florida?
No. Only the permitted trapper may possess the unused CITES tags issued to that trapper, but alligator trapping agents may take alligators in the presence of the permitted trapper. Can I use a countywide permit to take alligators on private property?
What is required to hunt alligators in Florida?
Now, for those choosing to go it alone, in order to hunt gators in Florida, you will need an alligator trapping license/harvest permit that is issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC).
Tags are property specific and must be used on the property indicated on the hunter’s license. Alligator hunters must also have their license in possession to possess or sell wild alligators, their skins, or parts. Resident Alligator Hunter Licenses cost $25.
On average, a gator tag can cost anywhere from $25 to as much as $1,000 or more for an entire alligator hunting season.
How much do you get for killing an alligator?
Reportedly, Louisiana alligator hunters used to make between $20 – $40 per foot of unprocessed alligator. However, in 2017 and 2018 there was increased competition coming from overseas and this caused gator sales to drop to an all-time low.
How much do you get paid for a dead alligator?
How much an individual can make depends greatly. It’s reported that some get paid up to $40 per foot of the reptile unprocessed.
With the alligator population exploding, and the predators edging closer to his home, “King of the Swamp” Troy Landry has taken an astounding 1000 tags this season.
Can you legally hunt alligators in Florida?
The Statewide Alligator Hunt is perfectly legal, but you’ll need a permit to participate. The FWC reports that more than 10,000 applicants will apply for about 5,000 permits; participants can harvest two alligators.
Is it legal to shoot alligators in Florida?
Alligators are protected under Florida law and FWC is taking those rules seriously. That means you’re not allowed to shoot and kill alligators unless you’re defending yourself. But when an alligator attacks a pet, you’re not allowed to shoot.
How do I get a permit for an alligator in Florida?
Applicants must be 18 years old, not convicted of certain wildlife related violations and demonstrate 1 year and 1,000 hours of substantial practical experience in the handling, husbandry and care of alligators or other crocodilian species. Activities must be documented and caging requirements apply.
How do you become an alligator hunter?
All you have to do is prove ownership of a piece of land deemed sufficient to sustain alligators, get a $25 Alligator Hunting license, and make an application. The number of tags you’re assigned is based on the size of your land and (if applicable) the number of tags you filled the previous year.
Hunters are rewarded tags based on how many alligators they caught the previous year and how much land they have access to. If a hunter does not fill all his tags during one season, he may receive less tags for the following year.
What is the fine for killing an alligator in Florida?
It’s illegal to poach, take or mutilate an alligator, and illegal to hunt them outside of hunting season and without a permit. Hunting season begins Aug. 15. Unauthorized alligator hunting is a third-degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.